Fixed Signs of the Zodiac

The Fixed Signs of the zodiac are Aquarius, Taurus, Leo and Scorpio.

These are 4 of the 12 signs of the zodiac, the 12 sun signs being divided into the 3 groups, called modalities of cardinal, fixed and mutable. These modalities are sometimes called 'quadruplicities' because each group contains 4 sun signs. (The other way the 12 sun signs are divided into groups, is the 4 groups of elements, three signs corresponding to each the four elements of earth, air, fire and water.)

The fixed signs occur during the middle of each of the four seasons of spring, summer, autumn and winter, at times when nature can seem most stable, least variable. Reference to the four seasons of the year is, of course, more meaningful in some parts of the world than others. Even where there are four seasons the association of, for example, January being in winter and July in summer, applies to the Northern Hemisphere.

Characteristics of the Fixed Signs

What do the fixed signs have in common ?


Those born under fixed signs are often said to be:

  • Inflexible
  • Resolute, decisive
  • Loyal, reliable

People born under the fixed signs of aquarius, taurus, leo and scorpio are sometimes described as conservatives who value and maintain stability. That contrasts with the tendencies of some others who might be more inclined to plunge into seemingly risky changes or new environments in the hope of securing an early advantage if or when change occurs.

Other aspects of the fixed signs are reliability, including personal loyalty and strong willpower. These people tend to be sure of themselves and their decisions in life, not apt to float vaguely or inconsistently between people, projects and aspirations.

Challenges / Potential 'negative side' of Fixed Signs

The attributes of the fixed signs include a tendency to resist change. While resistance to change for the worse might be viewed positively, resistance to any change at all - including those generally considered positive or unavoidable, can be disadvantageous. Disinclination to embrace the unknown when circumstances change can result in fixed sign people missing opportunities to forge ahead in a changing world or to fully support partners' and colleagues' efforts to do so.

Differences between the 4 Fixed Signs

Table to compare the 4 fixed signs at a glance:


  • Independent thinking
  • Fair-minded
  • Can be subborn
  • Optimistic despite challenges


  • Strong
  • Stalwart
  • Stubborn
  • Sensual


  • Ambitious
  • Creative
  • Flamboyant, appreciate luxury
  • Love of attention
  • Can be stubborn, resistant of change


  • Ambitious, 'driven' when pursuing goals
  • Creative, intuitive
  • can be stubborn
  • Loyal, can have obessive streak tending to possible jealousy

The differences between the mutable signs can be considered in terms of the four elements of astrology: earth, air, fire and water.

Aquarius is an air sign of the zodiac.
Air signs are associated with ...

  • Attention to detail
  • Ideas, creativity
  • Good communicators

Taurus is an earth sign of the zodiac.
Earth signs are associated with ...

  • Cautious, risk-averse
  • Practical, sensible
  • Reliability

Leo is a fire sign of the zodiac.
Fire signs are associated with ...

  • Passion
  • Spontaneity
  • High energy

Scorpio is a water sign of the zodiac.
Water signs are associated with ...

  • Artistic
  • Dreamy
  • Emotional

More about Air signs

More about Earth signs

More about Fire signs

More about Water signs

Looking for more information about Star Signs, Astrology and Horoscopes ?

Those who have clear desires and ask for Angelic help, receive it. Slow down your concerns to allow their energies to reach you more easily.

Although care has been taken when compiling this page, the information contained might not be completely up to date. Accuracy cannot be guaranteed. This material is copyright. See terms of use.

IvyRose Holistic 2003-2022.